Fifth Annual Women of Influence Awards

Recognizing Women in Our Community

The Women’s Initiative Committee hosted the Fifth Annual Women of Influence Awards on Thursday, August 23rd, 5:30-7:30 p.m. Nominations for the Women of Influence awards is now closed.

Woman of Influence – A woman who is influential within her company or industry. She displays strong leadership experience and inspires other women. A visionary with a track record of accomplishments.

Outstanding Entrepreneur – A female entrepreneur who contributes to the success of other women and entrepreneurs. She has experienced business growth and promotes sound business practices, a commitment to excellence and is a contributor to her community.

Distinguished Mentor – A woman who advises other women in order to help them advance and develop their own path to academic and
professional success. She generously shares her time to be accessible to the mentees. Imparts guidance and expertise in
encouraging and critiquing the mentee’s leadership, training and other scholarly works. Encourages mentees in networking
activities with other professionals. Promotes and makes others aware of the contributions and value of their mentees.

Community Service – A woman who has been involved in community service, such as boards, commissions or community groups. She has strong leadership skills and serves as a role model for inspiring others to change their community. She has influenced decision-making on issues and enhanced the quality of life in her community.

Rising Star – An up and coming female executive or business owner with less than five years at a company or in business. She has strong leadership skills and her actions have and continue to make an impact on the community. She is an innovator and inspires others.

Education – A woman whose creativity and innovation has impacted education. She has made an impact in training and education for the Shawnee County Community. She has strong leadership skills, serves as a role model and inspires others.

Past Women of Influence Recipients 2014-2017

Cindy Barry
Glenda DuBoise
Sarah Fizell
Amanda Kiefer
Joanna Lassley
Diana Ramirez

Martha Bartlett-Piland
Dr. Brenda Dietrich
Stephanie Heston
Justice Marla Luckert
Dr. Beryl New
Anita Wolgast

Christie Appelhanz
Carol Bradbury
Barbara Ebert
Pam McComas
Joanna Wagnon
Angel Zimmerman

Shelly Buhler
Cheryl Creviston
Cathy Harris
Pamela Johnson-Betts
Linda Kehres
Dr. Sharon Sullivan